Allergic Vegetarian™

Better Healthy Living for Life™


Specific Diets: The Notes

  1. Corn Free
  2. Gluten Free and Non Cereal Grains
  3. Corn & Gluten Free
  4. Cereal Free
  5. Rice Free
  6. Rice, Corn & Gluten Free
  7. Wheat Free


Various Cereal Family Allergies & Notes

We focus on various Cereal Allergies without restricting anyones diet more than necessary. Assume in these recipes Organic used where available.
Bragg's Liquid Amino® is considered Corn free. It is also Cereal Free. I use this in many of my recipes as it gives a good meaty flavour.
 

 

Rice, Corn, Gluten Free Notes

Rice: Self explanatory, rice and rice products won't be used here. No rice milk, rice dream, and so on will be found here. I probably need to rename a recipe too. Rice Dream is a product and a name of my recipe. Oops!
 
Corn:
Corn is part of the cereal family and can be found in many things. I find the best way to avoid corn is to eat organic whole foods from known sources. Be wary of Cross-Contamination. All corn and related items will not be used in the corn free recipes.
 
Severe Corn Allergy? Buy Organic where farmer avoids cross-contamination. I'd also make everything from scratch. This is for those people who have next to 0 tolerance for anything that has came into contact with Corn.
 

 
Gluten:
Common gluten free flours that I'll use here, include... Amaranth, Arrowroot, Brown Rice, Buckwheat, Chia, Chickpea, Corn, Corn meal, Hemp (not KF!), Maize, Millet, Potato, Quinoa, Sorghum, Soya (Soy), Tapioca, Teff, White Rice.
 
Also, Coffee Beans, Wild Rice and Oats will not be used here.
See Celiac & Coffee Beans
 
These links lead to other websites Corn and Gluten Lists:
(also, coffee and GF Oats, Wild Rice and Oats will not be used here.)
Celiac Unsafe Gluten Free food List
 
Corn Allergens List
 
Corn Free List
 
The direct links to those sites:
Celiac.com
Corn Alergens.com
Corn Free Foods
 

Celiac (Coelic) and Coffee Beans:
My apologies in advance for those who love their coffee! I've noticed for quite sometime that I might be reacting to coffee in my Mocha Ice Crema's. :P
 
Gluten Issues Or Celiac Don't Drink Coffee
and
Coffee and Gluten Connection

Wheat

The following foods and related items will not be found in the recipes here.
 
Wheat:
Atta, Bromated Flour, Bulgar, Couscous, Dinkel, Durum, Einkorn, Emmer, Enriched White Flour, Farina, Faro, Fu, Gluten flour, Graham Flour, High Gluten Flour, High Protein Flour, Instant Flour, Malt, Matzo, Matza (various spellings) Kamut, Patent Flour, Phosphated Flour, Plain Flour, Seitan, Semolina, Self-Rising Flour, Soft Wheat Flour, Spelt, Steel Ground Flour, Stone Ground Flour, Tabbouleh, Triticale, Triticum Aestivum, Unbleached Flour, Vital Gluten, Wheat, Wheat Berries, Wheat Bran, Wheat flour, Wheat Germ, Wheat Grass, Wheat Sprouts, Wheat Starch, Whole Wheat flour.


 

Specific Diets: The Recipes

  1. Corn Free
  2. Gluten Free
  3. Corn & Gluten Free
  4. Cereal Free
  5. Rice Free
  6. Rice, Corn & Gluten Free
  7. Wheat Free


Cereal Family:

The following foods and related items will not be found in the recipes here.
 
Cereal Family:
Atta, Bamboo Shoots, Barley, Bulgar, Bran, Cane sugar, Cane Molasses,
Chestnut, Ling nut; Chestnut, Singhara nut;
Club Wheat, Common Wheat,
Corn, Corn Meal, Corn Starch, Corn Oil,
Corn Sugar, Corn syrup, Corn dextrose,
Corn glucose, Corn cerelose,
Couscous, Dinkel, Durum,
Einkorn, Emmer, Enriched White Flour,
Farina, Faro, Gluten Flour, Graham flour,
Kamut, Malt Barley, Millet,
Patent Flour, Oats, Pumpernickel,
Rice, Rye, Seitan, Semolina, Sorghum, Spelt,
Steel Ground Flour, Stone Ground Flour,
Triticale, Triticum Aestivum,
Wheat, Wheat Berries, Wheat flour,
Wheat Germ, Wheat Starch, Whole Wheat Flour;
White Flour, Wild Rice.
 


 

Gluten Free and Non-Cereal Grains

Gluten:
Note that some people with a very severe Gluten Intolerance, may react to the secondary Grains and Non-Cereal Grains that are otherwise considered Gluten Free. I only know one person with this. More research needs to be done.
 
Gluten is an ingredient in part of the Cereal Family. However, not all grains in the cereal family needs to be avoided. Here I will avoid all grains that are not considered gluten free, Coffee Beans, Wild Rice and Oats (including GF Oats). This is because 1/4 of Celiacs have been found to react to Oats and I've elected to not separate them into their own section at this time. See links below for more information about Coffee Beans.
 
Common gluten free flours that I'll use here, include... Amaranth, Arrowroot, Brown Rice, Buckwheat, Chia, Chickpea, Corn, Corn meal, Hemp (not KF!), Maize, Millet, Potato, Quinoa, Sorghum, Soya (Soy), Tapioca, Teff, White Rice.
 
Non-Cereal Grains:
Amaranth & Quinoa: Amaranth Family. Quinoa is a complete Protein source.
Buckwheat: Buckwheat Family
Potato Flour: Nightshade Family
Tapioca Flour: Splurge Family
Hemp Flour: Not available in America, so I do not use it.
 

 
Opinions from around the web:
Wheat Free Org
Gluten Free in SD
Celiac.com
Shelley Case: Be Free For Me

Binders

1 TB Flaxseed to 3 TB Warm Water. Mix well. Let set until creamy, for about 3 - 5 minutes.
 
Arrowroot: 2 TB Arrowroot in 2 TB water. Mix well.
 
1/4 cup Silken Soft Tofu, Pureed.
 
Ener-G Egg Replacer may not be Corn free and is not used in these recipes. Cross-contamination with Corn is also possible with their flours.